输入完成搜索
STEAM图书馆
Ben Somner
2nd 八月 2019

未来学校图书馆展望以及其在STEAM 学校中所扮演的能动作用

学校图书馆纯粹是为了借书目的已过去很长时间-在数字时代,它的功能变得越来越多。现代图书馆越来越成为满足人们好奇心和激发人们创造力的场所,以及给予学生启发,并鼓励学生热爱学习的地方。

我们先前所看到的一排排书籍正在被一排排台式计算机取代。现在,这些也正在消失以提供更具灵活性的设施。目前,我们鼓励求学者使用BYOD(自带设备)或使用学校提供的平板电脑和笔记本电脑。这让求学者更具流动性,并且空间更灵活。

甚至用于描述这些透明和动态学习环境的术语也像空间本身一样不断发展。 虽然他们所描述的空间大体相同,但图书馆正在成为公共学习空间、学习中心和媒体中心。

由于通过我们在背包和口袋里携带的设备科在任何地方获得数字内容和信息,图书馆因此成为一个参与和社交学习的场所,鼓励探索,交流和协作 - 这是21世纪求学者的主要目标。

现代图书馆正在帮助培养雇主目前认为最宝贵的能力 - 批判性思维和解决问题的能力。 这些内容也同样在'STEAM'方法中优先考虑。 STEAM教育中的体验式学习使学生能够创造性地工作,解决问题并拥抱合作。

STEAM 的演变-从STEM到STEAM再到SE21

STEM

STEM一词代表科学、技术、工程和数学。 然而,STEM不仅仅是这个四个学科的组合,或者是一种提高科学素养的尝试,而是一种“跨学科的学习方法,即学生在运用科学、技术、工程和数学知识时将严谨的学术理论与实际情况运用相结合,实现学校、社区、工作及全球性企业之间的联系...“(Tsupros,2009)。STEM教育以项目为基础,培养具有批判性思维的思考者和问题解决者。

STEAM

Georgette Yakman 在2007年发起STEAM运动。她将STEAM定义为“以数学为基础,科学合计技术通过工程和设计被表述出来。”

在STEM中添加“A”元素。 需要重点注意的是这里“A”不单单指艺术这个学科,而是指包含语言艺术和人文科学 “艺术”。”根据这个定义,STEAM不仅仅是五个“学科”的组合,而且也是体现一种综合教育方法。

从STEM到STEAM的演变更加注重沟通和协作 - 不仅是进行探究和批判性思考,而且还鼓励学生通过创造性过程参与体验式学习和解决问题。

SE21

德威国际教育集团(DCI)引领新STEAM教育模式。其SE21教育框架代表21世纪人才需具备的STEAM、创业精神和环境可持续性技能 (SE21也是其伦敦学校的邮编)。 STEAM的所有负责人都进一步注重培养创新和创业精神。

在现有学校内设立的首批SE21中心成为迸发奇思妙想并进行协作以解决实际世界问题并基于项目进行学习的场所。该中心还为机器人、计算机辅助设计与辅助制作、和虚拟现实提供新及迷人的创客空间设施。

德威国际教育集团是该领域的思想领袖。宝麦蓝通过在小型翻新项目中试用SE21中心模型,帮助开发和优化该模型,然后将其扩大应用到整个学校。

我们目前正在建设德威国际教育集团首个STEAM学校。在这个学校设计DNA中,我们应用STEAM和合作概念。传统分科领域理念变得模糊,取而代之的是更流畅的布局和学习方法。 该设计还强调易于户外学习,并提供在学校各个区域和层面进行协作的机会。

STEAM在未来图书馆中所扮演的角色

在教育领域,我们看到人们越来越多地设置“STEAM室”和“STEAM建筑”以安置并汇聚这些以首字母缩略词描述的传统学科。然而,STEAM不是关于个人空间 - 在一所STEAM学校,这种教育方法要求无所不包。 我们的设计方案是将图书馆作为学校的核心,或者更准确地说,确保它是学校连接所有求学者的 “生命线”。因此将图书馆置于学校STEAM设施的中心。 但这个装载STEAM的未来图书馆会是什么样子?

多样化

未来图书馆必须能够满足不同的学习方式,不同的团体规模和不同的声学环境要求。 从充满活力的项目工作和团队协作空间,到个人安静的学习空间,设置多样化、以及不同规模的空间是设计的关键。

创客空间

STEAM学校注重通过实践学习以及创造。因此,“创客空间”已成为任何动态STEAM学习环境的一个关键组成部分。 创客空间为学生激发他们创造性和创造力的材料、工具和空间。 这些空间不应该被纳入传统“设计技术”教室,而应成为STEAM学校的核心 ,布置在图书馆中。在此,创意可以以与所有学科交叉实施。

在学校所扮演的角色

技术持续改进人们对数字资源的访问。 这引发产生单个集中式图书馆变得不那么重要的想法。当然,学生仍然需要能够吸收知识的空间。这些空间可布置在学校周围,以学习中心内的公共协作空间形式呈现。不过,从本质上来讲,图书馆“延伸”并进一步扩展融学校肌理,成为创新协作的连接设施和渠道。在某些情况下,学校本身就成了图书馆。

案例研究

上海民办德闳国际学校(德威国际教育集团旗下姐妹学校)

SE21是一个独特的教育框架,其中“S”代表STEAM,“E”代表企业家精神和环境可持续,“21”代表在学校学习方法中习得的21世纪技能。

德闳学校的任务书也强调将STEAM与户外学习相结合。我们将户外学习条件深入到设计的所有部分;从一层的大型科学、DT和创客庭院,到其它各层设置的多个灵活露台。顶部则为探索性屋面,设有科学和人文花园、游戏区和300米长的跑道。

从小学部(1-5年级)开始,学生被分成各个全年组。每个小组结合了四个中文媒体学习(CML)教室和四个灵活的沉浸式英语媒体学习(EML)教室。每个小组的核心为一个多功能的SE21休息区,设有大型演讲空间和便携式学习舱,允许教师和学生重新安排空间,提供21世纪学习所需的动态和灵活的学习环境。

中学教学采用分部布局,以灵活的SE21协作区域为中心,将沉浸式CML和EML教室成对布置。一个大型的SE21中心设于大楼一层,毗邻主大厅,并与图书馆结合,形成了学校的学术中心。它本身并不是传统意义上的“图书馆”。相反,它更像是一个协作和安静的空间,与周围的SE21空间在水平和垂直方向上缝合在一起。从而使图书馆成为易于获取的资源,学生们可以在基于查询的项目学习期间即时获取知识。

每一个小组,包括小学和中学,以及学校的各个层次,均拥有自己专属的户外学习平台。这些平台位于两个大型四方庭院周围。该设计有助于强调室内外学习流动的重要性,以及从项目一开始即编制的任务书核心概念。

“它本身并不是传统意义上的“图书馆”。相反,它更像是一个协作和安静的空间,与周围的SE21空间在水平和垂直方向上缝合在一起。”

UNNC宁波诺丁汉大学图书馆室内设计

虽然其并不是学校图书馆,但我们基于对宁波诺丁汉大学新建图书馆项目的研究,编制了“STEAM图书馆”理论。在建议书中,将我们在国际学校工作中发展起来的许多原则付诸实践,将动态和流动空间与受控和集中区域相结合,以打造各种不同的学习环境。

图书馆共四层,面积为2.4万平方米,一层主要为协作学习空间及教育社区,以服务整个校园。这个“社交花园”的灵感来自校园的绿色空间,并希望在一定程度上平衡新建图书馆开发中失去的一些绿色空间。绿色植物将被引入图书馆内部,在各个层级打造促进健康的环境和平静安宁的氛围。

为了适应学生们不断变化的学习行为,图书馆将24小时开放,一次最多可容纳2000人。除了为个人学习提供的安静空间外,该设施还设有多功能厅、活动空间、社会研究讨论区和冥想区,从而为整个校园提供一个中央社交空间。

成都威斯敏斯特学校-学习资源轴

我们为成都威斯敏斯特学校提出的方案包括“学习资源轴”,既发挥了学校图书馆的作用,也连接了所有教学区域,包括科技系的STEAM学科以及美术表演艺术“展馆”建筑。

至关重要的是,它还提供了一系列不同的协作空间,将不同年龄的学生和不同专业的教师聚集在一个令人兴奋且充满活力的环境中,积极鼓励对话、讨论与协作。封闭的阅览室和图书档案室沿项目室和小组工作区设置,以容纳所有的学习者。

在这里,“学习资源轴”作为连接通道,在整个校园内向所有学习者传播STEAM的探究、创新和协作原则。

在室内设计中,我们借鉴传统图书馆的美学设计打造一系列空间,同时创造出一个充满活力且富于变化的学习旅程,拥有多样化的空间并与外部自然环境建立视觉联系。

获取宝麦蓝最新动态

如果您想收到我们每季度的新闻快报,请在右侧提交您的详细信息。

We will hold your details on our contact database so we can process your request to receive our Dispatches newsletter. In every communication from Broadway Malyan, you will have the option to unsubscribe via a link. For further details see our Privacy Policy.

Click to enter complete search
The STEAM Library
Ben Somner
2nd August 2019

Envisioning the future of the school library, and its dynamic role in STEAM Schools

It has been a long time since the school library was purely about lending books - in the digital age it has become so much more. The modern library has increasingly become a destination for curiosity and creativity, a place that inspires students and encourages a love of learning.

Where we have previously witnessed row upon row of books being replaced with rows of desktop computers, these are now also disappearing to provide more flexible facilities. Learners are now encouraged to BYOD (bring your own device) or use school-issued tablets and laptops – making learners more mobile and spaces more flexible.

Even the terms used to describe these transparent and dynamic learning environments are evolving like the spaces themselves. While the space they describe are largely the same, libraries are becoming learning commons, learning hubs and media centres.

With the ability for digital content and information to be accessed anywhere, via the devices we all carry in our bags and pockets, so the library therefore becomes a place of participation and social learning, encouraging exploration, communication and collaboration – key tenets of the 21st century learner.

The modern library is helping to instil the characteristics that employers now deem most valuable - critical thinking and problem solving. The same characteristics that are prioritised in a ‘STEAM’ approach. The experiential learning in a STEAM education results in students that work creatively to persist in problem solving and embrace collaboration.

The evolution of STEAM – from STEM to STEAM to SE21

STEM

STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths. STEM is not however merely a collection of four subjects, or an attempt to increase science literacy, but an “interdisciplinary approach to learning where rigorous academic concepts are coupled with real-world lessons as students apply science, technology, engineering, and mathematics in contexts that make connections between school, community, work, and the global enterprise…” (Tsupros, 2009). A STEM education is project-based and creates critical thinkers and problem-solvers.

STEAM

Georgette Yakman founded the STEAM movement in 2007. She defined STEAM as “Science and Technology, interpreted through Engineering and the Arts, all based in elements of Mathematics.”

Adding an ‘A’ to STEM, it is important to note that the ‘A’ should not refer simply to Art as a subject but to “The Arts” – incorporating language, arts and humanities. With this definition, STEAM is more than the sum of its five core ‘subjects’, but is of course an integrated educational approach.

The development from STEM to STEAM places a greater emphasis on communication and collaboration – not only inquiry and critical thinking, the students are encouraged to engage in experiential learning and problem-solve through a creative process.

SE21

Dulwich College International (DCI) are leading the agenda with their new STEAM model. Their SE21 programme stands for STEAM and Entrepreneurship & Environmental Sustainability in the 21st Century (SE21 is also the post code of their London School!) where all the principals of STEAM are bolstered by a further emphasis on innovation and business through entrepreneurialism.

The first roll-out of SE21 hubs within existing schools have provided spaces for students to pitch ideas and collaborate in real-world problem solving and project-based learning. The hubs also incorporate new and exciting makerspace facilities for robotics, cad-cam, and virtual reality.

DCI are thought leaders in this field, and Broadway Malyan have helped to develop and evolve the model through trialing the SE21 hub model in small refurbishment projects before scaling up to underpin a whole school approach.

We are now underway with DCI’s first new build STEAM school; a school where the concepts of STEAM and collaboration are interwoven into the very DNA of the design. The idea of traditional departmental territories have become blurred and replaced instead with a more fluid layout and approach to learning. The design also places a strong emphasis on ease of access to outdoor learning and provides opportunities to collaborate in all areas and levels of the school

The role of STEAM in the future library

In the education sector we are increasingly seeing the inclusion of ‘STEAM rooms’ and ‘STEAM buildings’ to accommodate and cluster those traditional subjects described by the acronym. However, STEAM is not about individual spaces - in a STEAM school, the effect of this educational approach needs to be all-encompassing and pervasive. Our approach put the library as the heart of the school, or perhaps more accurately, ensures it is the ‘life blood’ of a school that connects all learners and as such places the library at the epicenter of the school’s STEAM endeavors. But what will this STEAM-loaded future library look like?

Variety

The future library must be able to cater for different learning styles, different groups sizes and different acoustic environments. From active and dynamic spaces for project work and group collaboration, through to individual quiet study pods, variety and variety of scale is key.

Maker space

STEAM schools place an emphasis on learning by doing, and making things. The ‘makerspace’ has therefore become a key component of any dynamic STEAM learning environment. A makerspace gives students the materials, tools and space to be creative and innovative. Rather than these spaces being incorporated into a traditional ‘design technology’ classroom, they should be at the heart of the STEAM school – in the library - where the creative emphasis can cross-pollenate with all subjects.

Role in the School

Technology continues to improve access to digital resource. This leads to the idea of the single, centralised library becoming less relevant. Of course, students still need spaces where knowledge can be assimilated, which can be multiplied around the school in the form of collaborative commons within the learning clusters. But essentially, the library ‘stretches’, and grows further into the fabric of the school to become a connector, a conduit for creative collaboration. In some cases the school itself becomes the library.

The learning spine that runs through the Chengdu Westminster campus, which has been designed by Broadway Malyan

Case Studies

Shanghai Dehong School (a sister school to the Dulwich College International network of schools)

SE21 is a unique educational framework where the ‘S’ stands for STEAM, ‘E’ for entrepreneurship and environmental sustainability and the ‘21’ for the 21st century skills developed in the school’s approaches to learning.

The brief for Shanghai Dehong School also placed a strong emphasis on amalgamating STEAM with the outdoor learning. Opportunities for outdoor learning are embedded in all parts of the design; from large science, DT and makers courtyards on the ground level to multiple, flexible terraces on each and every level, topped with an exploratory rooftop combining science and humanities gardens, play areas and a 300m running track.

From Primary (Grades 1-5), the students are grouped into whole year clusters. Each cluster combines four Chinese Medium Learning (CML) classrooms and four immersive, flexible English Medium Learning (EML) classrooms. At the heart of every cluster is a multiuse SE21 break-out area combining a large lecture space and portable study pods, allowing teachers and students to rearrange the space to provide a dynamic and flexible learning environment necessary for 21st century learning.

Middle school teaching is clustered departmentally and pairs immersive CML and EML classrooms around flexible SE21 collaboration areas. A large SE21 hub is located on the ground floor of the building adjacent to the main lobby and paired together with the library to form the academic heart of the school. It is not itself a ‘library’ in traditional terms. Instead it’s more a cluster of collaborative and quiet spaces that are stitched into surrounding SE21 spaces, both horizontally and vertically. This allows the library to become an easily accessed resource where students can gain instant access to knowledge during enquiry based project learning.

Each and every cluster, both in primary and middle and on all levels of the school, has its own dedicated outdoor learning terraces located around two large quads. This helps to emphasise the importance of fluidity between indoor and outdoor learning; a concept that importantly formed the heart of the brief that was developed from the beginning of the project.

“It is not itself a ‘library’ in traditional terms. Instead it’s more a cluster of collaborative and quiet spaces that are stitched into surrounding SE21 spaces, both horizontally and vertically.”

UNNC Library Interior Design

Although not a school library, we have developed the ‘STEAM Library’ theory through our work on University of Nottingham Ningbo’s new library project. Our proposal puts into practice a lot of the principals we have developed in our international school work, where dynamic and fluid spaces are coupled with controlled and focused zones to provide a variety of different learning environments.

The ground floor of the 4-storey 24,000sqm library is dedicated to social learning and the creation of an education community to serve the whole campus. This ‘social garden’ is inspired by the green spaces of the campus and aspires to in-part replace some of the green space lost to this new library development. Green planting will be brought into the interior of the library, on all levels to create an environment that promotes wellbeing and an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity.

Responding to the changing learning behaviours of students, the library will be open 24 hours a day and can accommodate up to 2,000 people at any one time. As well as providing a quiet spaces for individual learning, the facility also includes multi-function rooms, event spaces, discussion areas for social study and a meditation area – essentially providing a central social space for the whole campus.

Westminster School Chengdu – Learning Resource Spine

Our proposal for Chengdu Westminster School includes the ‘Learning Resource Spine’, which as well as acting as the school library, also physically connects all teaching zones including the STEAM subjects accommodated in the Science & Technology department and Fine Arts & Performing Arts ‘Pavilion’ buildings.

Crucially, it also provides an array of different collaborative spaces that bring together students of different ages, and teachers of different specialisms in an exciting and dynamic environment where dialogue, discussion and collaboration are actively encouraged. Enclosed reading rooms and book archives are included alongside project rooms and group working zones to accommodate all learners.

Here, the Learning Resource Spine acts as conduit to spread the STEAM principals of inquiry, creativity, and collaboration across the whole campus to all learners.

Through the interior design, we have provided a range of spaces that reference the traditional library aesthetic but create a vibrant and varied learning journey with diverse spaces and visual connections to the external natural environment.

Stay up to date with Broadway Malyan

If you would like to receive our quarterly newsletter please submit your details on the right.

We will hold your details on our contact database so we can process your request to receive our Dispatches newsletter. In every communication from Broadway Malyan, you will have the option to unsubscribe via a link. For further details see our Privacy Policy.