输入完成搜索

设计经验

作者:马特·布鲁克(Matt Brook,Broadway Malyan宝麦蓝总监

我们相信,严格以地方营造为主导的设计流程是确保不同规模项目成功并实现经济和社会效益最大化的关键因素——无论是城市区域、建筑或公园还是个人住宅或室内空间。

我们设计的地点都是以人为中心,有明确的目标,为它们所涵盖的购物、休闲、学习、生活或工作赋予意义或进行升华。具有明确身份的地点会产生强烈的场所感,这能够激发我们内心深处对归属和环境联系的渴望。

通过采用可重复、严格且稳健的设计流程,我们确保每个项目都拥有清晰的愿景。

什么造就伟大的地点?

我们认为,具有强烈认同感的地点源于潜在的“宏观理念”,它提供了足以推动整个设计过程的叙述主题。为每一个规模的设计决策创建一个框架,为成品提供一致性和完整性。

“宏观理念”就是这样——它是一个兼容并包的创始者,是设计中其它部分的起源。它应当是对问题和确认机遇的解决方案,通过对简要、背景和类型学的分析,在整个过程中将设计思路贯穿。通过共同努力,我们创建经得起考验的设计说明,从而让规划过程趋于合理化和流畅化,并让地点具有“必备”的品质,为客户和当地社区创造最大价值。

1

原则 1

理解、定义与呼应背景环境

从总体规划到个人建筑,我们所有项目的关键出发点都是捕捉、理解和呼应最广泛的背景环境。为了最大限度地提高地点对大多数项目的价值,背景环境的理解包含是对城市空间、发展、运输、格调、文化、气候、社会经济、遗产、环境等因素的审查。

超越眼前的界限(简洁和站点)可以让我们理解一个项目如何能最佳地适应并优化其地点、外围因素、社区和环境,并创造一个呼应背景环境的场所,而不仅仅做简单的加法。

2

原则 2

有一个清晰的“宏观理念”,这将推动一个强大的项目叙述主题

背景环境分析所产生的结果是对项目背景环境中的潜在特征进行升华,激发出一个清晰的“宏观理念”,从而强化地方感并创造一个清晰的叙述主题。它应该能够催生出我们工作所在地点的历史新篇,成为我们不断回忆的故事,并对未来的决策、展示和建设带来启发。

3

原则 3

保持简单

我们的夙愿是以复杂的思考过程推出经过深思熟虑的简单解决方案。在所有规模上,清晰的思维、愿景、策略和简单的元素设计解决方案将带来更加有价值的、强大的、清晰的、令人难忘的地点,并具有更强的认同感和目的性。

4

原则 4

考虑人、地点、规模与等级因素

地方营造是以人的因素为驱动。地点应当呼应人的规模和行为,我们则要呼应不同级别的围栏。它们应为不同的条件和活动运用合理的尺度,并且有清晰的结构层次,创造易辨认的环境。这适用于各种类型的项目,从周边规划到零售环境再到个人住宅。

在更近的距离上,自然环境总是会呈现更多内容,我们期待建筑环境也能以同样的方式呈现。建筑环境与人群规模的关系同样是创造人、建筑和空间和谐互动的关键因素。

5

原则 5

使用有限的材料构成

简单的材料构成能够强化方案的形式和架构,营造拥有更强认同感的一致性空间。单个建筑物不应使用超过三种材料,包括玻璃。

有限的材料构成还能减少材料的连接面和交叉点,从而营造更坚实、稳固、高效且易用建设的项目。

6

原则 6

细节应对整体起到呼应和强化的作用

最初的“宏观理念”必须能够驱动贯穿所有细节发展的叙述主题,以确保所有设计作品中拥有清晰而强烈的地方认同感。这为成品赋予视觉连贯性和自我参照品质,每一处细节都可强化整体、突出“宏观理念”,从而产生强烈的地方感。

人群规模同样是创造人、建筑和空间和谐互动关系的关键因素。

相关内容

奖项

60年历史

获取宝麦蓝最新动态

如果您想收到我们每季度的新闻快报,请在右侧提交您的详细信息。

Click to enter complete search

Design Approach

By Matt Brook, Director at Broadway Malyan

We believe that a rigorous placemaking-led design process is the key to ensuring the success and maximising the economic and social value of projects at every scale - from a city district, building or park to an individual home or interior space.

The places we design are people focused and have a clear purpose, enhancing and adding meaning to the activities they contain, be that shopping, relaxing, learning, living or working. Places with a clear identity generate a strong sense of place, which stimulates our deep-rooted desire to feel a sense of belonging to and connection with our environment.

By adopting a repeatable, rigorous and robust design process we ensure that a clear vision is embedded in every project.

What makes great places?

We believe places with a strong sense of identity stem from an underlying ‘Big Idea’ which provides a narrative strong enough to drive the whole design process. A framework is created for design decision making at every scale, providing a sense of consistency and completeness in the finished product.

The ‘Big Idea’ is just that; an all-encompassing generator from which the rest of the design stems. It should be a solution to the problems and opportunities identified through initial analysis of the brief, context and typology which will hold the design together throughout the process. Working together we create defendable design narratives, which streamline and expedite the planning process and produce finished places with a ‘must have’ quality which maximises their value for our clients and local communities.

1

Principle 1

Understand, define and respond to context

Capturing, understanding and responding to the widest possible context is the key starting point for all our projects, from masterplans to individual buildings. To maximise a site’s value for most projects this context is a city scale review of spatial, development, transit, character, cultural, climatic, socio-economic, heritage, environment factors.

Looking beyond the immediate boundaries (brief and site) allows us to understand how a project can best fit and add value to its site, surroundings, community and environment, creating a place which responds to the underlying context and is more than the sum of its parts.

2

Principle 2

Have a clear ‘Big Idea’, which will drive a strong project narrative

The output of our context analysis results in the distillation of the underlying character of a project’s context, informing the creation of a clear ‘Big Idea’, which amplifies the sense of place and creates a clear project narrative. It should generate the next chapter in the history of the place we are working in and be the story we constantly return to, to inform all future decision making, presentations and construction.

3

Principle 3

Keep it Simple

Our ambition is for complex thinking that result in well considered simple solutions. Clear thinking, visions, strategies and simple elemental design solutions at all scales result in more valued, robust, legible and memorable places with a stronger sense of identity and purpose.

4

Principle 4

Think about people, place, scale and hierarchy

Placemaking is people driven. Places should respond to human scale and behaviour and we respond to different levels of enclosure. They should use appropriate scales for different conditions and activities and have a clear hierarchy of composition, creating legible environments. This applies across typologies, from neighbourhood planning to retail environments to individual homes.

The natural environment always reveals more at closer scales therefore we expect the built environment to scale in the same way. A relationship between the built environment and the human scale is also key to creating a harmonious interaction between people, buildings and spaces.

5

Principle 5

Use a restrained palette of materials

A simple palette of materials reinforces a scheme’s form and composition, creating a more coherent place with a stronger sense of identity. Individual buildings should have no more than three materials, including glazing.

A limited palette also reduces material interfaces and junctions creating more resolved, robust, efficient and build-able projects.

6

Principle 6

The detail should refer to and reinforce the whole

The initial ‘ Big Idea’ must drive a narrative thread that runs through all levels of detail development to ensure a clarity and strong sense of local identity in all our design work. This creates finished places with a visual coherence and self-referential quality, every detail reinforcing the whole and underscoring the ‘Big idea’, resulting in a strong sense of place.

Human scale is also key to creating a harmonious interaction between people, buildings and spaces.

BP International Centre for Business and Technology

Sunbury, UK

Related Content

Awards

60 Years of History

Stay up to date with Broadway Malyan

If you would like to receive our quarterly newsletter please submit your details on the right.