输入完成搜索
一座即将变革的城市 - 达累斯萨拉姆的新篇章
Monika Bik
3rd 六月 2019

达累斯萨拉姆是一座生机勃勃、发展迅速的东非沿海城市,拥有570万人口,预计人口在未来15年内将增加一倍以上。

这个城市过去深受早期阿拉伯和德国殖民者的影响,在第一次世界大战结束后受到英国的统治,直到坦桑尼亚在1961年12月获得独立。

今天,在国家职能转移到坦桑尼亚新的内陆首都多多马的同时,达累斯萨拉姆预计将成为东非的主要港口和贸易中心,为内陆六个国家提供服务;并有能力从中国,印度或其他国家进口货物。

这座城市被划分为几个不同的区域(如下图所示),中心商务区(CBD)有一个正式的、管理的结构以及滨水区。

该CBD包含达累萨拉姆最好的酒店,市中心的住宅和国际商业,由上世纪60年代遗留的传统基础设施提供服务,并以优雅的装饰艺术和现代主义建筑为特色,与最近在前滩新建的35层楼高的建筑相竞争。

CBD西侧是综合性的城市中心区域 — 在商业和零售活动密集的、网格化的、细密的街道景观中,熙熙攘攘的办公室、酒店和公寓分布在竞争激烈的商店和临街餐厅的繁华街道。

这一地区的外围是城市周边的居民区,同时也是一个非正式发展的缓慢地带,沿着达累萨拉姆的四条主要的放射状路径延伸到农村腹地。

达累斯萨拉姆体现了当代非洲的商业和政治现实 — 随时准备变革,但仍需要克服挑战。指数的增长给城市基础设施网络和垃圾管理系统带来了越来越大的压力。拥挤的公共汽车、未铺设的道路、超负荷的电力网络、稀疏的卫生和教育设施,意味着这座城市的重要部分仍然得不到充分的服务。

达累斯萨拉姆有着一个重要的非正规经济模式,人们可以在高速公路中间购买从DVD到淋浴房的任何东西,正是这种灰色经济也破坏了将税收收入用于改善基础设施和社区设施的努力。

然而在达累斯萨拉姆,城市生活还有一个主要问题是交通拥堵,但达斯萨拉姆正在试图进行改善。

该市的快速公交(BRT)路网的第一阶段长达20.9公里的莫罗戈罗路目前已进入第二年运营,该路段拥有32个客运站,现在是一条充满活力并蓬勃发展的动脉,与城市的其他径向道路形成鲜明对比。

“达累斯萨拉姆体现了当代非洲的商业和政治现实 — 随时准备变革,但仍需要克服挑战。”
Monika Bik, 宝麦蓝总监

全面的发展方式

作为达累斯萨拉姆都市发展项目(DMDP)的一部分,由世界银行和北欧发展基金资助的总统办公室地区管理和地方政府正在进行一项开拓性的项目。

在非洲城市的背景下,该项目首次寻求整合沿BRT走廊的开发计划,由宝麦蓝领导一个多元化的咨询团队,为BRT第一阶段周边地区制定一个连贯的发展战略。

该战略建立在BRT出行时间改善的成功基础上,以刺激大量新的城市进行连接与重建,吸引新的外来投资,并帮助改善生活水平和相关的城市基础设施。一旦完成,该框架将成为BRT网络未来六个阶段的原型方法。

这个项目的核心是交通导向发展(TOD)的概念,该计划寻求在交通节点周围建立一个高密度、混合用途的开发项目,以适宜步行和行人为中心的环境,鼓励软性交通和公共交通使用。

为了确保项目正确理解城市存在的问题和优先事项,该项目采取了一种创新的方式来收集和分析数据。开发了基于地理信息系统(GIS)中一系列数据丰富的基础地图的土地利用和交通模型,并可用于各种交通运输和房地产开发的测试。

公交导向发展(TOD)矩阵是一种决策制定工具,可以从分析工作中吸收数据,并为BRT第一阶段沿线的32个站点的性能和潜力输出一系列评分。

这个针对规划人员和决策者的交互式工具就其准备和开发潜力以及它们与TOD原则的兼容性,对每个站点周边区域进行评分。所使用的指标是建立在城市和走廊的愿景和目标基础之上的,并且以实现项目目标的重要性为依据。

这对坦桑尼亚来说是一个独特的主张,它将社会经济学、房地产、城市规划、交通和基础设施等方面的见解汇集在一起,形成了一种连贯的、综合的设计方法。各种各样的指标,如公共交通运输和出行时间、人口和就业密度、土地价值、公用设施的使用性,甚至是将土地用于发展的容易程度等等,都可以合并并进行评估来对各个站点做分类。

这将为城市,道路和车站层面的规划和投资奠定基础。它可以刺激重点投资并指导发展以实现TOD。其目的是确保公共部门投资的高回报,使城市和整个社区受益。

一个以参与为基础的项目

这是项目利益相关者,社区和最终用户参与的关键方面。赋权于社区、参与私营部门并积极参与机构是城市规划的得以成功基本要素。通过一系列的参与活动来说明开发的可能性,确保项目能够覆盖各种受众并提供更高层次的反馈。

举办了四次互动式研讨会,与参与在达累斯萨拉姆城市规划和执行战略的一系列技术机构合作。这些活动与公共展览和详细的社区和用户组调查并行进行,旨在纳入难以触及的当地居民的意见,同时通过Facebook等社交媒体进行分享。

在互动式研讨会上,角色扮演有助于辩论和澄清一些关键问题,同时对参观伦敦交通枢纽进行基准测试,展示了最佳实践的例子。在达累斯萨拉姆举办的一系列焦点小组会议提供了对城市生活和前期创意测试的新见解,而在BRT终点站举办的公开展览吸引了不同的兴趣,对话和交流。

从协商过程和硬数据的结合在告知项目方向的同时,也提高了项目的知名度,这些是至关重要的。主要调查结果之一是,接近95%的咨询参与者表示,由于BRT项目的交通堵塞程度较低、连接性较好,沿途走廊的用途和机会多变,因此他们的生活也发生了改变。

非洲拥有世界上最年轻的人口,这是一个影响他们未来的项目,这个项目为人们创造了一个更好的生活环境和更清洁的空气,这个项目意味着孩子们不必在凌晨5点起床,花费3个小时上学,并将创造他们成年后所需的工作机会。

BRT的投资正在改变达累斯萨拉姆,这个项目将确保所有潜在的利益都从这个项目中提取出来,并且结果已经很清楚。达累斯萨拉姆(Dar es Salaam)赢得了可持续交通奖(sustainable transport awards),并将成为非洲最佳实践案例研究之一,这并不令人意外。

*本文首先出现在《计划》杂志上

获取宝麦蓝最新动态

如果您想收到我们每季度的新闻快报,请在右侧提交您的详细信息。

We will hold your details on our contact database so we can process your request to receive our Dispatches newsletter. In every communication from Broadway Malyan, you will have the option to unsubscribe via a link. For further details see our Privacy Policy.

Click to enter complete search
A city poised for change - a new chapter for Dar es Salaam
Monika Bik
3rd June 2019

Dar es Salaam is a vibrant and fast growing East African coastal city of 5.7 million people with a population expected to more than double over the next 15 years.

The city’s past has been heavily influenced by early Arab and German colonists before falling under British rule following the end of World War 1 until Tanzania secured its independence in December 1961.

Today, while state functions are being relocated to Tanzania’s new inland capital Dodoma, Dar es Salaam is expected to become East Africa’s main port and trading centre, supplying six inland countries and is ­­­well positioned to host imports from China, India and elsewhere.

The city is divided into a number of distinct quarters (shown on the map below) and at its core, the central business district (CBD) has a formal, managed structure and waterfront aspect.

The CBD contains Dar’s best hotels, downtown residences and international businesses, being serviced by legacy infrastructure dating from the 1960s and featuring elegant art deco and modernist buildings, competing with more recent interventions rising to 35 storeys on the foreshore.

The west side of the CBD is the consolidated city centre area - a dense, gridded, fine-grained streetscape of commercial and retail activities under crammed offices, hotels, and apartments in a bustling streetscape of competing shop and restaurant frontages.

Dar’s economic urban areas include its industrial port and airport – linked by the axis of Pugu Road and the Peninsula - Dar’s distinctive diplomatic enclave - sits to the north. Elsewhere, dense slum settlements cluster around the local markets and employment sub-centres that accommodate much of the city’s urban population.

The area beyond comprises an outer ring of peri-urban settlements - a creeping blanket of largely informal development that sprawls along Dar’s four key radial approach roads into the rural hinterland.

Dar es Salaam exemplifies the commercial and political realities of contemporary Africa – ever-poised for change but with challenges to overcome. Exponential growth is placing increasing strain on the city’s inadequate infrastructure networks and waste management systems. Its crowded buses, unpaved roads, over-burdened and discontinuous power networks, sparse health and education facilities means significant parts of the city remain poorly served.

Dar es Salaam has a significant informal economy where buying anything from DVDs to shower cabinets in the middle of the highway is not an unusual activity and it is this significant grey economy that is also undermining efforts to formalise and boost tax revenues to improve infrastructure and community facilities.

However, a dominant issue for urban life in Dar es Salaam, an issue that has constrained its ability to progress, is congestion - but Dar es Salaam is fighting back.

The first phase of the city’s Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) network is now in its second year of operation with a 20.9 km section of Morogoro Road, which boasts 32 passenger stops, now a vibrant and thriving artery, pulsing with movement and activity and in contrast with the long-jams characterising the city’s other radial roads.

“Dar es Salaam exemplifies the commercial and political realities of contemporary Africa – ever-poised for change but with challenges to overcome.”
Monika Bik, Director, Broadway Malyan

A holistic approach to development

The President’s Office Regional Administration and Local Government, supported by The World Bank and Nordic Development Fund as part of the Dar es Salaam Metropolitan Development Project (DMDP), are undertaking a ground-breaking project.

For the first time in the context of an Africa city, the project seeks to integrate plans for the development along its BRT corridors and Broadway Malyan is leading a diverse consultancy team to establish a coherent strategy for the areas surrounding the first phase of the BRT line.

The strategy builds on the success of the BRT’s journey time improvements to stimulate substantial new urban connected redevelopment, attracting new inward investment and helping to improve living standards and related city infrastructure. Once completed, this framework will become a prototype approach for all future six phases of the BRT network.

Central to the project is the concept of Transit Oriented Development (TOD) that seeks to establish a higher-density, mixed-use development around transit nodes with a walkable and pedestrian-centred environment, encouraging soft mobility and public transit use.

To ensure the project properly understands the city’s issues and priorities, the project has taken an innovative approach to collecting and analysing data. Land use and transport models based on a series of data-rich base maps in Geographic Information System (GIS) were developed which can then be used for testing of different transport movement and real estate development.

The Transit Oriented Development (TOD) Matrix is a decision making tool that assimilates the data from the analysis work and outputs a series of scores for the performance and potential of each of the 32 stations found along the Phase 1 line of the BRT.

This interactive tool aimed at planners and decision makers scores each station area in terms of its readiness and development potential, as well as their compatibility with TOD principles. The indicators used, build on the vision and objectives of the city and corridor and are weighted by their importance in achieving the goals of the project.

It is a unique proposition for Tanzania, bringing together insight from socio-economics, real estate, urban planning, transport and infrastructure to form a joined-up and integrated design approach. Diverse indicators such as public transport catchment and travel times, population and employment densities, land value, access to utilities or even how easy it might be to assemble the land for development, can be combined and assessed to categorise the stations.

This will provide a foundation for planning and investment at the city, corridor and station level. It can stimulate priority investments and guide developments to achieve the TOD. The aim is to ensure the return on high public sector investment, benefiting the city and the entire community.

A project underpinned by engagement

A critical aspect of this project stakeholder, community and end-user engagement. Empowering the community, engaging the private sector and actively involving institutional agencies is an essential ingredient to successful city planning. Illustrating development possibilities through a range of engagement activities ensures the project reaches a variety of audiences and offers an increased level of feedback.

Four interactive workshops have taken place, engaging with a range of technical agencies who are involved in planning and implementation of the strategies within the city of Dar es Salaam. These have run in parallel with public exhibitions and detailed community and user-group surveys designed to incorporate the views of hard-to-reach local residents, while being shared through social media such as Facebook.

In the interactive workshops, role-play helped to debate and clarify some of the key issues while benchmarking visits to London’s transport hubs showed examples of best practice. A series of focus group sessions in Dar es Salaam offered fresh insights of city life and the testing of early ideas, while the public exhibition at a key BRT terminus attracted diverse interest, dialogue and exchange.

The combination of the anecdotal inputs from the consultation process and the hard data has all been crucial in informing the direction of the project while also raising the profile of the project. One of the major findings was that nearly 95% of all consulted participants said their life has changed for the better because of the BRT project with less congestion, significantly better connectivity and on-going changes in the range of uses and opportunities found along the corridor.

Africa has the youngest population in the world and this is a project for their future, a project that creates a better environment to live in and cleaner air to breathe, a project that means that children will not have to get up at 5am for a three-hour journey to school and will create the jobs they need when they reach adulthood.

The investment in the BRT is transforming Dar es Salaam and this project will ensure that every potential benefit is extracted from the initiative with the results already clear to see. It is no surprise that Dar es Salaam is winning sustainable transport awards and will become one of Africa’s best practice case studies.

*This article first appeared in Plan Magazine

Stay up to date with Broadway Malyan

If you would like to receive our quarterly newsletter please submit your details on the right.

We will hold your details on our contact database so we can process your request to receive our Dispatches newsletter. In every communication from Broadway Malyan, you will have the option to unsubscribe via a link. For further details see our Privacy Policy.