输入完成搜索
城市农场,商业空间和可持续的未来
Anne Lucas
23rd 十一月 2017

21世纪将被铭记为城市的新纪元。

城市化的速度和影响是巨大的,未来30年全球人口增长需要多建设250倍于伦敦的城区。

新的驱动因素,不断变化的人类行为和不断变化的气候,都要求城市必须对这种人口现状做出反应,重塑城市环境,寻求能够过上幸福健康生活的街道和社区。

其中一个关键驱动因素是提供人类生存的基本要素 - 食物,清洁的饮用水和保暖。据估计,城市增长在未来15年内需要多消耗50%的能源,40%的清洁水和35%的食物。

尽管世界上目前没有粮食短缺问题 –  我们生产的粮食的三分之一产生了浪费 - 但是全球范围的大规模生产和运输方式的效率越来越低,这在环境方面也是不可持续的。

正是由于这种认知,近年来城市农场蓬勃发展,社区中出现的设施主要集中在发达国家,希望尽可能减少或实际消除粮食里程及其对能源消耗和农产品质量的影响。

城市农业的种类繁多,取决于气候,农作物和城市密度,类型从主要的垂直农场到重新利用的社区花园,以及如今参与在食品生产关键过程中的城市屋顶。

这是一个趋势,不仅仅是由于长期的需要,而是一种态度的改变,即我们如何选择和越来越多的人一起生活在充满活力、密度更高的多用途环境中,以平衡工作和休闲并能够以健康和可持续的方式获得最佳设施。

仅在英国,花在包括有机和公平贸易在内的道德食品和饮料产品上的花费现在就超过了100亿英镑,并且随着越来越多的人渴望当地生产的,可持续和透明生产的农产品而呈指数增长。

正是这种市场的力量正在影响着食品市场,并从根本上影响了零售设计,而将城市农场整合到购物中心的潜力现在变成了一种真正的可能性。

今年早些时候,比利时Delhaize宣布其在布鲁塞尔一家超市的屋顶测试一个新的城市农场,顾客可以在那里购买新种植的农产品,到2018年底开发一个包括从西红柿到西葫芦等一系列蔬菜的新品牌。

对于购物中心来说,挑战是另一回事,因为直接向顾客销售产品不太可能产生维持一个主要城市农场所必需的财务回报。取而代之的是“农场到餐桌”运动的持续增长,加上中心餐饮经营者及其所有者之间的合作方式,有可能在传统购物中心的背景环境下支持城市农业。

对于购物中心来说,挑战是另一回事,因为直接向顾客销售产品不太可能产生维持一个主要城市农场所必需的财务回报。取而代之的是“农场到餐桌”运动的持续增长,加上中心餐饮经营者及其所有者之间的合作方式,有可能在传统购物中心的背景环境下支持城市农业。

尽管城市农业普遍发展,但将零售中心和美食两者相结合的概念仍处于萌芽阶段,更有可能在较富裕的社区蓬勃发展,而消费者仍会为当地生产的食品支付额外费用。

然而,财富并不是唯一的因素 - 我们目前正在斯堪的纳维亚进行一个新的购物中心扩建和重新定位设计工作,包括一个主要的城市农场,虽然它是世界上最富裕的地区之一,但它同时也是社会最平等和最环保的地区之一。

将城市农场引入购物中心也是一个重要的教育过程的一部分,这是加强可持续性发展原则的一个关键组成部分,由当地学校的孩子们来参观,了解健康的生活,新鲜的食物,烹饪和农业。

这种倡议最终是为了丰富当地社区。购物中心是商业实体,只有当他们能与客户建立强大的连接,越来越多的人把自己从消费主义的天堂改造为社区中心,并拥有强大的道德、可持续发展的特性和教育的指南针。

毫无疑问的是,斯堪的纳维亚城市长期以来都是都市农业的先驱,在粮食生产和消费一体化方面处于领先地位,但其他国家也将效仿,因为未来城市将为我们的粮食系统提供解决方案,为我们所有人提供一个可持续的未来。

获取宝麦蓝最新动态

如果您想收到我们每季度的新闻快报,请在右侧提交您的详细信息。

We will hold your details on our contact database so we can process your request to receive our Dispatches newsletter. In every communication from Broadway Malyan, you will have the option to unsubscribe via a link. For further details see our Privacy Policy.

Click to enter complete search
Urban farms, retail and a sustainable future for us all
Anne Lucas
23rd November 2017

The 21st century will be remembered as the century of the city.

The rate and impact of urbanization is vast with a global population growth over the next 30 years requiring the building of an urban area 250 times the size of London.

Cities are having to respond to this demographic reality with new drivers, evolving human behaviours and a changing climate all reshaping urban environments in the quest for neighbourhoods and communities that allow for happy and healthy lives.

One of the key drivers is providing the basics of human existence – food, clean drinking water and warmth with estimates predicting a need for 50 per cent more energy, 40 per cent more clean water and 35 per cent more food in next 15 years to accommodate urban growth.

There is currently no shortage of food in the world – one third of what we produce already goes to waste – but the methods of mass production and transport across the globe are increasingly inefficient and environmentally unsustainable.

It is this understanding that has seen a boom in urban farms in recent years with facilities emerging in communities predominantly across the developed world with the aspiration of minimizing or practically eradicating food mileage and its impact on energy consumption and the quality of the produce.

Urban farming comes in myriad formats depending on climate, crops and urban density ranging from major vertical farms through to repurposed community gardens and everything in between with many city rooftops now playing their part in the critical process of food production.

It is a trend driven not just by a long term necessity but a change in attitude about how we are choosing to live with more and more people wanting to live in vibrant, denser high quality multi-use environments with a desire to balance work and leisure and to be able to access the best facilities in a healthy and sustainable way.

Underpinning this trend is the evolving nature of the retail sector and more specifically the transformation of traditional malls, from places to shop to hubs of the community with multiple uses that better reflect not just the modern urban lifestyles of their customers but also their values.

The next generation of shopping malls can no longer merely rely on the quality of their tenant mix, instead they need to create an experience for the customer that is as emotional as it is physical, an experience that the customer understands and can believe in.

Gastronomy in all its forms has now become a central plank of this evolving shopping centre offer, occupying anything from 15-40 per cent of floor space depending on the format and location with customers demanding a fresh and authentic eating experience beyond the traditional fast food outlet and coffee shop.

Spending on ethical food and drink products including organic and Fairtrade is worth now more than £10bn in the UK alone and is growing exponentially as more people crave produce that is local, sustainable and transparently produced.

It is the strength of this market that is having an impact beyond the the food court and fundamentally influencing retail design with the potential for urban farms integrated into shopping centres now becoming a real possibility.

Earlier this year Delhaize Belgium announced it was testing a new urban farm on the roof of one its Brussels supermarkets where customers could buy freshly grown produce, developing a new brand that will include a range of vegetable from tomatoes to zucchini by the end of 2018.

For shopping centres the challenge is a different one as selling produce to customers directly is unlikely to generate the financial returns necessary to sustain a major urban farm. Instead it is the continued growth of the ‘farm to fork’ movement combined with a collaborative approach between the centre’s food and beverage operators and its owners that has the potential to support urban farming within the setting of traditional shopping centres.

Despite the growth of urban farming generally, the concept of combining them with major retail centres and gastronomy is still in its infancy and more likely to thrive in wealthier communities while customers still pay a premium for locally produced food.

However, wealth is not the only factor - we are currently working on a new shopping centre extension and repositioning in Scandinavia which includes a major urban farm and while it is one of the wealthiest regions in the world, it also one of the most socially equal and environmentally conscious.

The introduction of urban farms into shopping centres is also part of an important educational process, a key component in reinforcing sustainability principles with visits from local school children to learn about healthy living, fresh food, cooking and agriculture.

Ultimately this kind of initiative is about enriching the local community. Shopping centres are commercial entities that can only thrive if they can engender strong connections with their customers and increasingly that means reinventing themselves from a consumerist paradise to community hubs with a strong ethical, sustainable and educational compass.

It is no surprise that Scandinavian cities have long been pioneers in urban agriculture and are perfectly placed to lead the vanguard in integrating food production and consumption but others will follow as the city of the future embraces solutions to our food systems that offer a sustainable future for us all.

Stay up to date with Broadway Malyan

If you would like to receive our quarterly newsletter please submit your details on the right.